Catastrophic thinker, Melodramatic, Hypochondriac; take your pick – Pensadora catastrófica, melodramática, hipocondríaca; ¿cuál es?

Catastrophic thinker, Melodramatic, Hypochondriac; take your pick

I’ve been made aware that I am not worthy of the title of “depresive” or “bipolar” or any diagnosable mental condition that could explain my behaviour and my feelings of self doubt, sadness and negative outlook on life and people. I have not been diagnosed with anything so I can’t say this is something I can’t control. So I’m expected to. I am told to change my attitude. The psichiatrist I was seeing told me I wasn’t depressive, I simply had panic attacks. Something that can be controlled with simple meditation. He told me I didn’t need the antidepressants I was taking. So if I’m not a depressed girl, then, what am I? Am I a common pesimist? Well, I was convinced I was diagnosably melancholic but apparently I am not, so I must be a fucking hypochondriac. That’s gotta be the reason why I lose my appetite so easily and why it takes me four hours to fall asleep: hypochondria. The pychiatrist also mentioned something about young adults these days having so much free time and living with their parents longer so they have way too much time to think about the future and this makes them stressed. So millenials are whiny spoiled brats, doctor? I guess that’s the best diagnosis I’m gonna get.

Image result for hypochondriac

I stopped seeing this psychiatrist, taking pills and reaching for psychiatric help for some reasons: 1) like I explained before, I was told there was nothing actually wrong with me, I was just being a melodramatic millenial. Which got me thinking: “well, if I’m fine, then why am I comming to see you and paying you all that money for, doctor?” The man screwed himself over. 2) I realized that seeing a psychiatrist made you a lunatic on the eyes of other people, and I already had enough of that after my mom broke my door one day thinking I was slitting my wrists or jumping from the window simply becaused I locked myself in my room wanting some peace and quiet.

I remember the day I decided to never see that psychiatrist again. I wanted the number of our landlord in case I needed to talk to him since we were planning to move out soon, so I asked my sister for it. She said no. “What do you need his phone for? I already talked to him. What are you going to do? What are you going to say to him?”. My God. I couldn’t believe her. She was acting as if I was some raving lunatic that was gonna call our landlord to scream some nonsense in his ears. This is my younger sister. She can’t even make her own bed or keep her room clean but she treated ME as if I was some inmature little girl. I refused to dignify those questions with an answer so I told her I was going to go see the landlord personally and ignored every communication from here from then on. So she called my mother and told her I was having a histeric fit and that she should stop me. My mom chased after me, she pushed me, grabed me, hit me, threatened to call the police and have me dragged back home, wrestled me for the metro card breaking it in the process and then followed me as I walked to the station to buy another one. On the way, she called my sister to tell her I was running around the streets like a crazed woman and asked HER what to do with ME. My sister told her to stay with me, and not let me go alone. Then, my mom called this psychiatrist and complained about how I was a total nutcase and told him about the “raving fit” I was having. May I remind you, spam blogs who are the only ones that like my posts, that I was simply trying to get our landlord’s number in case I needed to talk to him about the rent? What enfuriated me the most is finding out that my mom, my sister and her boyfriend, and my dad have this secret council in which they talk about me behind my back and decide what to do about Denisse, the stupid inmature woman-child lunatic. I mean, I get that my parents would do that, but my younger sister? We used to be best friends. And WHAT THE HELL IS HER BOYFRIEND DOING THERE? Why does HE get to decide how they treat me? Seriously, every time my sister decides that I’m acting like a lunatic I can hear his stupid voice in the background giving his goddammed opinion. Boy, stay the fuck out of my business. You don’t see me talking about his actually schizophrenic mom.

85543fa7bc9300e94b449a69cd18eb60

So yeah, the only thing I got from seing a psychiatrist was a good amount of money less, a “millenial brat” diagnosis and being branded as a lunatic in front of my family (and my sister’s boyfriend, for some reason) forever.

So I am not a depressive girl, but I am treated like a psycho. I might as well add my own diagnosis and say I might have an extreme case of catastrophic thinking. Have you ever had the feeling that absolutely everything you start is bound to end badly? No? Then you are not me. Let me illustrate: I’m 23 and I don’t have a drivers license ’cause every time I imagine myself driving I see clear as day how I drive into a shopping mall and kill 6 people. I would never get a loan to buy a car anyway ’cause there’s no way I’ll ever have a job good enought to afford it. I’ve never had a boyfriend or a real date because every guy who tries to woo me instantly turns into an angry ex in my head (there aren’t that many guys hitting on me anyways, and none that I like). I’m going to get a substantial amount of money in a few monts, thanks to an inheritance, and I’m thinking of turning it down ’cause I can’t think of a positive outcome to ANYTHING I could do with that money. I don’t want I house, a house is a ball and chain, it’s a debt. I’m absolutely sure I had seen the best days of my life and that I’m going to be living in the streets by the end of the year (that if I don’t gather the balls to kill myself and NOT ASK FOR HELP like last time). I lost my confidence in myself and I can’t do my homework after four years of excellent grades and a brilliant score in college ’cause every time I sit in front of the computer to write an essay or a paper I’m requested, I can see a giant F on it before I have even typed my name. So yeah, I’m droping out ’cause I’m afraid to fail and that means losing my job at college, ’cause it’s a job for students. I’m 23 so in a couple of years my father won’t be legally required to support me anymore, but even if he decided to stop sending money right away I would not be able to sue him. How do you even sue somebody? Why would I sue my dad? He’s right to be dissapointed. He spent yesterday’s afternoon screaming at me trough the phone about how I was wasting my life. He’s right, but I simply don’t have it in me and I wish I had known from the beginning, I wish I had always been a bad student and not the best of the class, so he wouldn’t have expected so much of me. I tought I could please my parents simply by getting good grades but it turns out that none of that matters. What matters is getting a prestigious degree and a high paying job. And since I’m not doing that, I’m the worst daughter and the worst person ever. I’m a loser, good for nothing dead beat. And everybody thinks I am choosing to be this way.

I’m discovering, after years of thinking I was Velma (the nerd with a bright future ahead of her), that I was actually Shaggy, and that my place was eating dog food on the back of a van. As soon as the perspective of the thesis became an inmediate reality it downed on me how unbeliavably stupid and simple I really am. My God, why. Why was I allowed to spend all this time dreaming of a good life I was never going to have. If I had known what I really was at least I could have had fun with it. I almost wish I was like my classmates who got pregnant in high school. At least they know who they are and where they’re going. They make more money than me, that’s for sure.

It doesn’t help that all the bad things I imagine are going to happen are fueled by memories of real events. The first time I tried to drive I DID crash. The first time I kind of dated a guy he hated me after the second date and stoped talking to me altogether (I actually didn’t like him, so it was a relief, but still). My mom DID buy a house with bank loans and then lost her job and spent the next 20 years of her life fleeing from city to city with the bank stalking her and her family for the payments. No female in my family has ever had a good relationship. They’re all divorced or unhappily married.

Image result for catastrophic thinking

I already assumed crash position: I erased my Instagram and Facebook accounts so my classmates can’t find me and ask me how come I dropped out and then flood my timeline with pictures of their graduations and diplomas in a couple of years. But, about the rest, I don’t have a plan. That’s why I tried to kill myself. I wanted to die ’cause I knew this was going to happen and I wanted to be remembered how I was, when I was still this big promise. Now the mask is falling, the paint is fading. Everybody is discovering I’m not this amazing person they thought I was and they positively HATE the real me.

I remember when I was the tallest girl of the family. One day they mesured us and calculated how tall we were gonna be when we were older with a computer program. It turned out I was gonna be the smallest. I was so angry and frustrated and told my cousins and sister that it was not true, I would always be taller than them. Ha ha. We’ve all grown up know and guess who’s the shortest. That’s me, Denisse who thinks she’s gonna be taller than everybody else but then reality hits and shows her she has fallen short. Poetic.

Pensadora catastrófica, melodramática, hipocondríaca; ¿cuál es?

Me han hecho saber que no soy digna del título “depresiva” o “bipolar” o cualquier condición mental diagnosticable que pudiera explicar mi comportamiento y mis sentimientos de duda y tristeza, y mi negativa perspectiva sobre la vida y las personas. No he sido diagnosticada, así que no puedo decir que estos sentimientos y pensamientos son algo que no puedo controlar. Así que esperan que los controle. Me dicen que cambie de actitud. El psiquiatra que estaba viendo me dijo que no estaba deprimida, simplemente tenía ataques de pánico. Algo que se puede controlar con meditación. Me dijo que no necesitaba los antidepresivos que estaba tomando. Así que si no soy una chica deprimida, ¿qué soy? ¿Soy una pesimista común y corriente? Bueno, estaba convencida que era diagnosticablemente melancólica, pero aparentemente no lo soy, así que debo ser una maldita hipocondríaca. Esa debe ser la razón por la que pierdo el apetito tan fácilmente y por la que me toma cuatro horas quedarme dormida: hipocondría. El psiquiatra también mencionó algo acerca de los adultos jóvenes, que en estos días tienen mucho tiempo libre y viven con sus padres más tiempo por lo que tienen demasiado tiempo para pensar en el futuro y esto los estresa. ¿Así que los millenials son unos mocosos consentidos y quejumbrosos, doctor? Supongo que ese es el mejor diagnóstico que obtendré.

Dejé de ver a este psiquiatra, dejé de tomar las píldoras y dejé de buscar ayuda psiquiátrica por varias razones: 1) Como expliqué antes, me dijeron que no había nada malo en mí, que estaba siendo una millenial melodramática. Lo que me hizo pensar: “Bueno, si estoy bien, entonces ¿por qué vengo a verlo y le pago todo ese dinero, doctor?” El hombre se jodió él sólo. 2) Me di cuenta de que ver a un psiquiatra te hace un lunático a los ojos de otras personas, y ya tenía suficiente de eso después de que mi mamá rompió mi puerta un día pensando que me estaba cortando las muñecas o saltando por la ventana simplemente porque me encerré en mi habitación queriendo un poco de paz y tranquilidad.

Recuerdo el día en que decidí no volver a ver al psiquiatra. Yo quería el número del dueño del apartamento que arrendamos en caso de que necesitara hablar con él ya que estábamos planeando mudarnos pronto, así que se lo pedí a mi hermana. Ella dijo que no. “¿Para qué necesitas su teléfono? Yo ya hablé con él. ¿Qué vas a hacer? ¿Qué vas a decirle?” DIOS MIO. No lo podía creer. Ella estaba actuando como si yo fuera una loca delirante que iba a llamar a ese señor para gritarle algún disparate. Ella es mi hermana menor. Ni siquiera puede hacer su propia cama o mantener su habitación limpia, pero me trató como si yo fuera una niñita inmadura. Me rehusé a dignificar esas preguntas con una respuesta, así que le dije que iba a ir a ver personalmente al hombre y decidí ignorar sus mensajes y llamadas de ahí en adelante. Así que llamó a mi mamá y le dijo que yo estaba teniendo un ataque histérico y que debía detenerme. Mi mamá me persiguió por la calle, me empujó, me agarró, me golpeó, amenazó con llamar a la policía y hacer que me arrastraran a casa, forcejeó conmigo por mi tarjeta de metro, rompiéndola en el proceso, y luego me siguió mientras caminaba a la estación para comprar otra. En el camino, llamó a mi hermana para decirle que yo estaba corriendo por las calles como una loca y le preguntó qué hacía conmigo. Mi hermana le dijo que se quedara conmigo, y que no me dejara sola. Entonces, mi mamá llamó a ese psiquiatra y se quejó de que yo era una loca de remate y le contó acerca del “ataque de histeria” que yo estaba teniendo. ¿Puedo recordarles, blogs de spam que son los únicos que le dan “me gusta” a mis publicaciones, que simplemente estaba tratando de obtener el número del dueño de nuestro apartamento en caso de que necesitara hablar con él sobre el alquiler? Lo que más me enfureció fue descubrir que mi mamá, mi hermana y su novio, y mi papá tienen un consejo secreto en el que hablan a mis espaldas y deciden qué hacer con Denisse, la estúpida e inmadura niñita loca. Bueno, entiendo por qué mis padres harían eso, pero ¿mi hermana menor? Solíamos ser mejores amigas. Y ¿QUÉ, POR TODOS LOS INFIERNOS, HACE EL NOVIO DE MI HERMANA AHÍ? ¿Por qué él puede decidir cómo me tratan? En serio, cada vez que mi hermana decide que estoy actuando como una lunática puedo oír su estúpida voz en el fondo dando su maldita opinión. Niño, no te metas en mis asuntos. No me ves a mí hablando de su madre esquizofrénica.

Así que sí, lo único que conseguí de ver a un psiquiatra fue perder una buena cantidad de dinero, un diagnóstico de “millenial consentida” y ser calificada como lunática delante de mi familia (y el novio de mi hermana, por alguna razón) para siempre.

Así que no soy una chica depresiva, pero sí soy tratada como una psicópata. Ya que estamos en eso, también podría añadir mi propio diagnóstico y decir que puedo tener un caso extremo de pensamiento catastrófico. ¿Alguna vez has tenido la sensación de que absolutamente todo lo que empiezas está destinado a terminar mal? ¿No? Entonces no eres yo.

Image result for feeling down

Permítanme ilustrar: tengo 23 años y no tengo una licencia de conducir porque cada vez que me imagino conduciendo veo claro como el día cómo meto el carro en un centro comercial y mato a 6 personas. De todas maneras nunca sacaría un préstamo para comprar un carro porque no hay manera de que alguna vez tenga un trabajo lo suficientemente bueno como para pagarlo. Nunca he tenido un novio o una cita real porque cada chico que trata de coquetearme se convierte instantáneamente en un ex enojado en mi mente (no son muchos de todos modos, y ninguno que me guste). Voy a obtener una cantidad sustancial de dinero en unos pocos meses, gracias a una herencia, y estoy pensando en rechazarla porque no puedo pensar en ningún resultado positivo para nada que pueda hacer con ese dinero. No quiero casa, una casa es una atadura, es una deuda. Estoy absolutamente segura de haber visto ya los mejores días de mi vida y de que voy a estar viviendo en las calles a finales de este año (eso si no consigo las pelotas para matarme y NO PEDIR AYUDA como la última vez). Perdí mi confianza en mí misma y no puedo hacer mi tarea después de cuatro años de excelentes calificaciones y una brillante puntuación en la universidad porque cada vez que me siento delante de la computadora para escribir un ensayo o un artículo que me solicitan, puede ver un REPROBADO gigante en él antes de que siquiera haya escrito mi nombre. Así que sí, voy a dejar la universidad porque tengo miedo de fallar, y eso significa perder mi trabajo, porque es un trabajo para estudiantes. Tengo 23 años, en un par de años mi papá no estará legalmente obligado a mantenerme más, pero incluso si él decide dejar de enviar dinero de inmediato yo no sería capaz de demandarlo. ¿Cómo demandas a alguien? ¿Por qué iba a demandar a mi papá? Tiene razón en estar decepcionado. Él pasó la tarde de ayer gritándome a través del teléfono que yo estaba arruinando mi vida. Tiene razón, pero simplemente no tengo la capacidad para cambiar y me gustaría haberlo sabido desde el principio, ojalá siempre hubiera sido una mala estudiante y no la mejor de la clase, así él no habría esperado tanto de mí. Pensé que podría complacer a mis padres simplemente con obtener buenas calificaciones, pero resulta que nada de eso importa. Lo que importa es obtener un título de prestigio y un trabajo bien pago. Y como no los tengo, soy la peor hija y la peor persona de todas. Soy una perdedora, buena para nada. Y todo el mundo piensa que estoy eligiendo ser así.

Estoy descubriendo, después de años de pensar que era Velma (la nerd con un futuro brillante), que en realidad yo era Shaggy, y mi lugar estaba comiendo comida para perros en la parte trasera de una furgoneta. Tan pronto como la perspectiva de la tesis se convirtió en una realidad inmediata, me dí cuenta de lo increíblemente estúpida y simple que realmente soy. Dios mío, por qué. ¿Por qué se me permitió pasar todo este tiempo soñando con una buena vida que nunca iba a tener? Si hubiera sabido lo que realmente era al menos podría haberme divertido. Casi me gustaría ser como mis compañeras de clase que quedaron embarazadas en la secundaria. Al menos ellas saben quiénes son y adónde van. Ganan más dinero que yo, eso es seguro.

No ayuda que todas las cosas malas que imagino que van a suceder son alimentadas por recuerdos de acontecimientos reales. La primera vez que traté de conducir SÍ, me estrellé. La primera vez que medio salí con un tipo, él llegó a odiarme después de la segunda cita y dejó de hablarme por completo (en realidad no me gustaba, así que fue un alivio, pero aún así). Mi mamá compró una casa con préstamos bancarios y luego perdió su trabajo y pasó los siguientes 20 años de su vida huyendo de ciudad en ciudad con el banco acosándola a ella y a su familia por los pagos. Ninguna mujer de mi familia ha tenido nunca una buena relación. Todas están divorciadas o infelizmente casadas.

Ya asumí la posición de choque: borré mis cuentas de Instagram y de Facebook para que mis compañeros de clase no puedan encontrarme y preguntarme cómo así que me salí de la universidad y luego inunden mi timeline con imágenes de sus graduaciones y diplomas en un par de años. Pero, acerca del resto de mi existencia, no tengo un plan. Por eso traté de matarme. Yo quería morir porque sabía que esto iba a suceder y quería que me recordaran como era antes, cuando todavía era una gran promesa. Ahora la máscara se está cayendo, la pintura se está desvaneciendo. Todo el mundo está descubriendo que no soy esa persona increíble que creyeron que era y odian a la verdadera yo.

Recuerdo cuando era la chica más alta de la familia. Un día nos midieron y calcularon con un programa de computadora la altura que íbamos a tener cuando fuéramos mayores. Resultó que yo iba a ser la más pequeña. Estaba tan enojada y frustrada… y le dije a mis primos y a mi hermana que no era cierto; yo siempre sería más alta que ellos. Ja ja. Todos ya crecimos y adivinen quién es la más baja. Esa soy yo, Denisse, quien piensa que va a ser más alta que todos los demás, pero luego la realidad la golpea y le demuestra que se ha quedado corta. Poético.

Image result for feeling down

Leave a Reply

