My history with fashion and style and how I got into Lolita – Mi historia con la moda y el estilo, y cómo llegué al Lolita

My history with fashion and style and how I got into Lolita

15267787_10153894642142553_2820204027246415693_n

This may sound impossible or exaggerated to you, but I did not have any new clothes until I was 16. All, absolutely all  of it (with the obvious exception of underwear) was clothing inherited from my older cousins. I remember that my mother would come home with a bag full of used clothes, pour it on the sofa and told my sister and me to choose what would be our new wardrobe. We were a poor family, who ate simple food, who came to have no food, who sometimes could not afford to pay the water or power bill so they would cut it. After the divorce of my parents, when I was 5 years old, the coming and going that would be the rest of my life began. My parents would come and go, they would leave separate ways after new jobs and new lovers. Each time they left, it was him after a girlfriend, her after a boyfriend. Both behind any job offer they could find. Both lived in other cities and even in other countries, with their partners of the moment, and my sister and I would end up at our grandparents’ house. My mom was the one who spent the most time with me and my sister, taking care of us, raising us, but still, life took her to many places that she could not take us or to those that I did not want to follow her because I knew she was following someone else.

As you can imagine, with all this commotion and wandering from one house to the other and from one family to another that was my childhood and adolescence, I never had time to worry about typical teenage things like fashion and style. I was the girl in the inherited clothes who was always told that she looked or behaved like an older person because she was “very serious” or “very mature”. Oh, this is funny: once, one of my cousin’s friends actually took me for with my sister’s mom. Ha. Ha. Ha.

Image result for you must have been a teenager when you had him

I was not serious and much less mature, I was shy and introverted (they are not the same), that’s why I was quiet. And I was shy because years of bullying had made me insecure. I was bullied for being “ugly” and “silly” I could only dream of being a cute girl, a girl who was liked by the boys. I got over the part about the guys when I realized that a really mature person doesn’t let themselves be defined by how many people want to have sex with them. That freed me of a great weight, but I still had the restless question of “who am I in terms of style?”.

In her teenage years my cousin and sister, who had more confidence in their appearance (and by the way, more guts) than I did, began to enter the world of alternative fashion. Of course, it was the most popular alternative fashion at the time (we were teenagers, you can’t expect anything really original from a teenager), but it was a style. I regarded them as the most beautiful and incredible people in the world. I admired and envied them so much. Their looks, their friends, their lives. Later, this style ceased to be popular and both of them became disenchanted and moved to the world of conventional fashion for young adults. I stayed the same, being the plain and boring girl who looked on from the sides day dreaming, wishing she looked different but never trying it.

When I turned 18, my life changed. My parents were not with me, but they had gotten good jobs, better paid, and started sending more money. Suddenly, after years and years of wearing used clothes, I could start buying my own clothes – not just generic shirts sold in pay-3-take-5 sales, stylish clothes. For the first time I could choose how to look and have an actual style. The first step was to get myself a wig (my first, and the one that will be my favorite forever). Then I bought some nice clothes. But at 19 I still felt empty in terms of style, it was then that, looking for an Emilie Autumn song called “Gothic Lolita”, I came across Lolita fashion. Years ago I had filled up a folder on my computer with pictures of Lolitas. In fact I had met the first and only Lolitas in my city at an anime event and bought an accessory from them. However, until that moment I had not thought of becoming a Lolita myself. I browsed the Lolita fashion websites, which got me up to heaven with their beautiful designs and knocked me down back to Earth with their prices. I read more information, but I stayed as a simple admirer who wore cute designs of Korean and Chinese clothing that I ordered online. All that changed when one afternoon a classmate saw me wearing a dress and asked if what I was wearing was Lolita fashion. I told her no, and she said she thought my style was very close to Lolita fashion. I was flattered and started to investigate more, to read the bard of Lolita: Novala Takemoto, to read articles and blog posts. I saw many photos, I visited many websites and I fell in love. A few days later I told my sister that I wanted to try and follow a fashion style, I was tired of being plain ol’ Denisse. At first, I wanted to try Hime Gyaru. My sister was very involved in that world, although she did not dare to call herself a Gyaru for fear she was not doing it appropriately. But then I realized that the Gyaru style was just as costly and complicated as Lolita, only sexier. “Sexy” and I don’t go togheter, so I decided on Lolita fashion, I got my first job and I bought my first petticoat, my first bloomers and my first dress on Taobao. Then came the shoes, stockings and blouse (from Bodyline). And then came everything else.

Today I am 23 years old, I’ve been a Lolita for 3. Now I have an identity, fashionwise. I get around very well, if I say so myself. Curiously, the girl who took me for a Lolita was the same one who recommended me the job that allowed me to become one. We could say that, unintentionally, she created me.

tumblr_nqedx5nDI41syzh23o1_400

I love my style, I love the way I look, I love the way I feel. I love looking so beautiful in the mirror and having a whole community that shares my enthusiasm for this and also believes that I look great. I love Lolita and I’m glad I found it.

 

Mi historia con la moda y el estilo, y cómo llegué al Lolita

tumblr_nicdmo53xq1u7afmco3_500

Puedes sonarles imposible o exagerado, pero hasta que cumplí los 16 años yo no tuve ropa nueva. Toda, absolutamente toda (con la obvia excepción de la ropa interior) era ropa heredada de mis primas mayores. Recuerdo que mi mamá llegaba con una bolsa llena de ropa usada, la regaba sobre el sofá y nos decía a mi hermana y a mí que escogiéramos lo que sería nuestro nuevo guardarropa. Éramos una familia pobre, que comía comida sencilla, que llegó a no tener comida, que en ocasiones no podía pagar el agua o la luz así que la cortaban. Después del divorcio de mis papás, cuando yo tenía 5 años, comenzó el ir y venir que sería el resto de mi vida. Mis padres se fueron cada uno por su lado, detrás de nuevos trabajos y nuevos amores. Cada vez era el uno detrás de una novia, la otra detrás de un novio. Ambos detrás de cualquier oferta de trabajo que pudieran conseguir. Ambos vivieron en otras ciudades y hasta en otros países, con sus parejas del momento, y mi hermana y yo acabábamos en casa de nuestros abuelos. Mi mamá fue quien más tiempo pasó conmigo y con mi hermana, cuidándonos, criándonos, pero aún así la vida la llevó a muchos lugares a los que no podía llevarnos o a los que yo no la quise seguir porque sabía que ella seguía a alguien más.

Como se imaginarán, con toda esta conmoción y con el vagar de una casa en otra y de una familia en otra que fue mi infancia y adolescencia, nunca tuve tiempo de preocuparme de típicas cosas de chica adolescente como la moda y el estilo. Yo era la chica de la ropa heredada a la que siempre le decían que se veía o se comportaba como alguien mayor porque era “muy seria” o “muy madura”. Oh, esto es gracioso: uno de los amigos de mi prima llegó a confundirme con la mamá de mi hermana. Ja. Ja. Ja. Yo no era seria y mucho menos madura, era tímida E introvertida (no son lo mismo), por eso era callada. Y era tímida porque años de matoneo me habían hecho insegura. Me matoneaban por ser “fea” y “boba” yo solo podía soñar con ser una chica linda y con gustarles a los chicos. Lo de gustarles a los chicos lo superé cuando me di cuenta de que una persona realmente madura no se deja definir por cuántas personas quieren tener sexo con ella. Eso me liberó de un gran peso, pero igual me quedó la inquietud de “¿quién soy en cuanto a estilo?”.

En sus años de adolescencia mi prima y mi hermana, que tenían más confianza en su apariencia (y por cierto más agallas) que yo comenzaron a introducirse en el mundo de la moda alternativa. Por supuesto, era la moda alternativa más popular que había (éramos adolescentes, no se puede esperar nada realmente original de un adolescente), pero era un estilo. Yo las veía como las más hermosas e increíbles personas del mundo. Las admiraba y las envidiaba tanto. Su aspecto, sus amigos, sus vidas. Después, dicho estilo dejó de ser popular y ambas se desencantaron y se movieron al mundo de la moda convencional de los adultos jóvenes. Yo me quedé igual, siendo la chica sencilla y aburrida que miraba desde los lados soñando despierta con verse distinta pero sin intentarlo nunca.

Cuando cumplí 18 la vida cambió. Mis papás no estaban conmigo, pero habían conseguido buenos trabajos, mejor pagados, y comenzaron a enviar más dinero. De repente, después de años y años de usar ropa usada, podía empezar a comprar mi propia ropa -y no solo camisetas genéricas vendidas en promociones de pague 3 lleve 5, ropa con estilo. Por primera vez podía elegir cómo verme y tener un estilo. El primer paso fue comprarme una peluca (mi primera y la que será mi favorita por siempre). Después, comprar ropa bonita. Pero a los 19 seguía sintiéndome vacía en cuanto a estilo, fue entonces que, buscando una canción de Emilie Autumn llamada “Gothic Lolita”, me encontré con la moda Lolita. Hacía años que yo había llenado una carpeta de mi computadora con fotos de Lolitas. De hecho había conocido a las primeras y únicas Lolitas de mi ciudad en un evento de anime y les había comprado un accesorio. Sin embargo, hasta ese momento no había pensado en convertirme en Lolita. Miré los sitios web de moda Lolita, que me subieron al cielo con sus hermosos diseños y me bajaron a la tierra con sus precios. Leí más información, pero me quedé como una simple admiradora que usaba lindos diseños de ropa coreana y china que pedía por internet. Todo eso cambió cuando una tarde una compañera de estudios me vio usando un vestido y me preguntó si lo que llevaba puesto era moda Lolita. Le dije que no, y ella me contestó que le parecía que mi estilo era muy afín a la moda Lolita. Yo me sentí halagada y empecé a investigar más, a leer al bardo del Lolita: Novala Takemoto, a leer artículos y entradas de blogs. Vi muchas fotos, visité muchos sitios web y me enamoré. Unos días después le dije a mi hermana que quería tratar de seguir un estilo de moda, que estaba cansada de ser Denisse la simple. Primero quise ser Hime Gyaru. Mi hermana estaba muy metida en ese mundo, aunque no se atrevía a hacerse llamar Gyaru por temor a no estar haciéndolo bien. Pero luego me dí cuenta de que el Gyaru era igual de costoso y complicado que el Lolita, solo que más “sexy”. “Sexy” y yo no combinamos, así que me decidí por el Lolita, conseguí mi primer trabajo y compré en Taobao mi primer petticoat, mis primeros bloomers y mi primer vestido. Después vinieron los zapatos, las medias y la blusa (de Bodyline). Y después vino todo lo demás.

Hoy tengo 23 años, llevo 3 en el Lolita. Ahora tengo una identidad, si de moda se trata. Lo llevo muy bien, aunque lo diga yo misma. Curiosamente, la chica que me confundió con una Lolita fue la misma que me recomendó el trabajo que me permitió convertirme en una. Podríamos decir que, sin quererlo, ella me creó.

tumblr_n0w7gwZgep1sktt8uo1_500

Amo mi estilo, amo como me veo, amo como me siento. Amo verme tan bonita en el espejo y tener a todo una comunidad que comparte mi entusiasmo por esto y que también cree que me veo grandiosa. Amo el Lolita y me alegra haberlo encontrado.

tumblr_m26l7z5J1o1rtopxvo1_400

Leave a Reply

