Why I haven’t talked – Porqué no he hablado

Why I haven’t talked

 

Image result for going down

Ever since my suicide attempt I stopped attending my clases at the university and I have tryied with all my might to keep everything still, as it is, for as long as I can. I’m pressing the PAUSE button on my life since I can’t press the EXIT one. If I don’t go back to class soon I will completely flunk the semester, but I don’t care about my carreer anymore. It wasn’t taking me anywhere I wanted to be. The problem is: my dad cares. He visited me two weeks after I left the hospital. We talked about my future, I cried and told him I wasn’t sure about continuing my studies anymore and that I would probably not be able to finish this semester. Apparently he only heard the second part of this and told me it was okay to take one semester off, but got furious a month later when I told him I was completely dropping out.

And my boss cares. My job depends on me studying at the university, it is a student assistant position. If I’m not a student I would have to take a job interview and sign a contract but since hiring students for part time assistance is cheaper this is highly unlikely. As soon as I drop out I will lose my position and my boss will have to start looking for another person. I also told her I was droping out and she half begged me, half ordered me not to. ¨Do you dislike working with me? Well, if you don’t, stay. We make a good team and I need you here¨. I’ve been working there for two years and I really like it. Every beautiful experience (including, but not limited to: buying Lolita dresses from my favorite brands, traveling my country, attending conventions, meeting famous models, buying nice meals for friends and family, traveling with my sister, going to the movies, modeling) I have had in these past two years I’ve been able to afford thanks to that job. And the job itself is not bad at all. I like it, and I like my workmates. My office is actually the best of the entire building. But, alas! It all depends on my studies and I want nothing to do with that anymore!

I need to tell my director what’s going on, why it’s been impossible for me to return to clases, so he gives me a special authorization to cancel the semester (or some subjects) extracurricularly. I haven’t talked​ to my director though. I haven’t talked to him, or my dad, or my boss, and it’s because I know the conversation will go exactly like every conversation I’ve had with every adult so far: ¨So why do you think you can’t finish your major? You totally can! What do you mean you can’t? You should be! You’ve been doing it all this time so you should be able to keep going no problem!¨ And with this they dismiss my feelings and assume I will simply obey and keep going as if nothing had happened.

I let go of everything that day, when I took those pills. And now I’m expected to jump right back into it and keep going. No. No. Please no. I took those pills precisely because I knew no one would take me seriously and that I would be forced to continue in this path even though I am extremely disatisfied with the life that’s being layed out in front of me.

In less than two months, maybe even just two weeks, the moment of truth will come. The semester will be over and my dad will ask about my grades and will ask about the money I need to pay for the next semester. My boss will ask me if I can continue working next semester as well (I wish I could!). And both of them will hear the dissapointing news: I am not and I will never again be what they wanted me to be. I have abandoned my previous life and now I’m stumbling towards nowhere in particular, but away from the path they thought I would follow. I can’t really blame them. I thought I was going to follow thet path too. The idea of droping out never crossed my mind until last year when I sudenly started feeling incredibly depressed, unmotivated and, well, suicidal. SERIOUSLY suicidal (I have been fantasizing about killing myself since I was 8 but I never had the stomach to actually try it, until now). I thought those who droped out were pathetic losers and that they only did it because their grades were shitty. Well, my grades are excellent, and here I am, feeling too stupid to even conjure a thesis subject. I was gonna graduate, get a masther’s degree, maybe study a little bit more abroad, get a PhD, find a nice six-figure job (I mean six figures in colombian pesos, not dollars, geez) and live a life of relative wealth and stability. I was so sure of this that I never made a plan B. Fuck. My life is against the ropes and it is all going down in a few weeks. I am going down. 

 

Porqué no he hablado

Desde mi intento de suicidio dejé de asistir a mis clases en la universidad y he intentado con todas mis fuerzas mantener todo quieto, tal y como está, durante todo el tiempo que pueda. Estoy presionando el botón de PAUSA en mi vida ya que no puedo presionar el de SALIDA. Si no vuelvo a la clase pronto voy a perder completamente el semestre, pero ya no me importa mi carrera. No me llevaba a donde quisiera estar. El problema es: a mi padre le importa. Me visitó dos semanas después de dejar el hospital. Hablamos de mi futuro, lloré y le dije que no estaba segura de continuar con mis estudios y que probablemente no sería capaz de terminar este semestre. Al parecer, él sólo escuchó la segunda parte de eso y me dijo que estaba bien para tomarme un semestre de descanso, pero se puso furioso un mes más tarde, cuando le dije que iba a salirme por completo.

Y a mi jefa le importa. Mi trabajo depende de que yo estudie en la universidad, es una posición de asistente estudiante. Si no soy una estudiante tendría que ir a una entrevista de trabajo y firmar un contrato, pero puesto que emplear a estudiantes para trabajos de asistente a tiempo parcial es más barato, esto es altamente improbable. Tan pronto como me retire voy a perder mi posición y mi jefe tendrá que empezar a buscar a otra persona. También le dije que iba a abandonar y ella medio me pidió, medio me ordenó que no lo hiciera. ¨¿No te gusta trabajar conmigo? Bueno, si te gusta, quédate. Hacemos un buen equipo y te necesito aquí”. He estado trabajando allí durante dos años y me gusta mucho. Cada experiencia hermosa (incluyendo, pero no limitado a: comprar vestidos Lolita de mis marcas favoritas, viajar por mi país, asistir a convenciones, conocer modelos famosas, pagar comidas agradables para amigos y familiares, viajar con mi hermana, ir al cine, modelar) que he tenido en estos últimos dos años me la he podido permitir gracias a ese trabajo. Y el trabajo en sí no es malo en absoluto. Me gusta, y me gustan mis compañeros de trabajo. Mi oficina es en realidad la mejor de todo el edificio. ¡Pero, Ay! ¡Todo depende de mis estudios y ya no quiero tener nada que ver con eso!

Necesito decirle a mi director lo que está pasando, porqué me ha sido imposible volver a clases, para que que me da una autorización especial para cancelar el semestre (o algunas materias) extracurricularmente. Pero no he hablado con mi director. No he hablado con él, ni con mi padre, ni con mi jefa, y eso es porque sé que la conversación será exactamente igual a cada conversación que he tenido con cada adulto hasta ahora: ¨¿Por qué crees que no puedes terminar tu carrera? ¡Claro que puedes! ¿Qué quieres decir con que no puedes? ¡Deberías poder! ¡Lo has estado haciendo todo este tiempo así que deberías ser capaz de seguir adelante sin problemas!¨ Y con esto desechan mis sentimientos y asumen que simplemente obedeceré y seguiré como si nada hubiera pasado.

Dejé todo atrás ese día, cuando tomé esas pastillas. Y ahora esperan me suba de nuevo en la silla y siga adelante. No. No. Por favor no. Tomé esas píldoras precisamente porque sabía que nadie me tomaría en serio y que me vería obligada a seguir en este camino a pesar de que estoy extremadamente insatisfecha con la vida que se está poniendo delante de mí.

En menos de dos meses, quizás sólo dos semanas, llegará el momento de la verdad. El semestre terminará y mi padre me preguntará acerca de mis calificaciones y me preguntará por el dinero que necesito pagar el próximo semestre. Mi jefe me preguntará si puedo continuar trabajando el próximo semestre también (¡ojalá pudiera!). Y los dos oirán la decepcionante noticia: no lo haré y nunca más volveré a ser lo que querían que fuera. He abandonado mi vida anterior y ahora estoy tropezando hacia ninguna parte en particular, pero lejos del camino que ellos pensaron que iba a seguir. Realmente no puedo culparlos. Yo también pensé que iba a seguir ese camino. La idea de abandonar nunca se me pasó por la cabeza hasta el año pasado cuando empecé a sentirme increíblemente deprimida, desmotivada y, bueno, suicida. SERIAMENTE suicida (he estado fantaseando sobre matarme desde que tenía 8 años pero nunca tuve el estómago para intentarlo, hasta ahora). Pensaba que los que se salían de sus carreras eran perdedores patéticos y que sólo lo hacían porque sus calificaciones eran pura mierda. Bueno, mis notas son excelentes, y aquí estoy, sintiéndome demasiado estúpida para conjurar un tema de tesis. Iba a graduarme, obtener un grado de maestría, tal vez estudiar un poco más en el extranjero, obtener un doctorado, encontrar un buen trabajo de seis cifras (me refiero a seis cifras en pesos colombianos, no dólares, vaya) y vivir una vida de relativa riqueza y estabilidad. Estaba tan segura de eso que nunca hice un plan B. Fuck. Mi vida está contra las cuerdas y todo se va a caer en pedazos en pocas semanas. Yo voy a caer.

Leave a Reply

