Pacient – Paciente

Pacient

The day I woke up in the hospital I was surprised not only when I realized that I was in a hospital but also when I tried to move and noticed that I was tied to the stretcher. The strangest thing of all was how the people around me treated me. My mother spoke to me very softly, a doctor who approached asked me if I would run or attack someone if I was released, soon after, a procession of relatives began arriving, one by one, hugging me as if I were something very delicate and prone to breakage.

But those who treated me the strangest were the psychologist and her apprentices / assistants. They were college girls, obviously, wearing nursing uniforms from a private university. The psychologist spoke softly but what she said sounded like scolding, like an imposition. I don’t usually argue with strangers so I just nodded and responded to her intrusive questions, but I never felt so powerless in front of an adult who looks at you from above and judges and tells you what to do and what you shouldn’t have done since I was in elementary school. The psychologist finished her interrogation and left the girls with me. Then they began to talk to me. It was incredible. They used the same condescending tone as the doctor! I could not believe that some girls my age looked at me and talked to me like they did. They used a soft voice, as if they were talking to a little girl, looking at me from above, because they were standing and I was lying on the stretcher with a huge needle in my right hand administering a cold serum that ran into my arm. All I could think was: if I weren’t here, if I wasn’t in this situation, I would be just another normal girl to you, we would talk about the weather, I would ask them for directions to some place, they would ask me where I got such a pretty backback… We would be the same, equals. But at that moment I was a fragile and useless patient and they were the professionals. It was really humiliating.

Later, when I read the medical records, I saw that the doctor had written: “The patient is lying down, looking disheveled.” My thoughts were “well, yeah, idiot, I’m in a hospital, I was unconscious for hours, I did not have time to apply make-up or comb my hair, thank you.”

You know? I am a fan of Emilie Autumn and had heard in many of her songs and interviews how humiliating the experience of being in a hospital as a patient after a suicide attempt was, but I had never experienced it. They all treat you like a stupid baby who put a fork in a power outlet for no reason, without realizing it. I know exactly why I did what I did. And I’m an adult. I mean, I’m thankful they did their best to keep me alive and this was probably routine procedure, they were just doing their jobs. But still, it felt bad for me. That is just how I felt. After this I think I understand EA a lot more and it seems to me that I’ve never felt so identified with an artist in my life. I just think I was lucky I wasn’t sent to psych like this poor girl. They prescribed antidepressant pills and I was able to walk out the next day.

Paciente

Image result for patient stretcher movies

El día que desperté en el hospital me sorprendí no solo al darme cuenta que estaba en un hospital sino también al intentar moverme y notar que estaba amarrada a la camilla. Lo más extraño de todo fue cómo me trataban las personas a mi alrededor. Mi mamá me hablaba con mucha suavidad, una doctora que se acercó me preguntó si no iba a correr o a agredir a alguien si me soltaba las amarraduras, poco después comenzó a llegar una procesión de familiares quienes, uno a uno, me abrazaban como si fuera algo muy delicado y a punto de romperse.

Pero las que me trataron de manera más extraña fueron la psicóloga y sus aprendices/asistentes. Eran chicas universitarias, obviamente, con uniformes de enfermería de una universidad privada. La psicóloga hablaba con voz suave pero lo que me decía sonaba como un regaño, como una imposición. Yo no suelo discutir con extraños así que simplemente asentía y respondía a sus preguntas, pero desde que estaba en primaria nunca me sentí tan impotente frente a un adulto que te mira desde arriba y te juzga y te dice lo que tienes que hacer y lo que no tenías que haber hecho. La psicóloga terminó su interrogatorio y dejó a las chicas conmigo. Entonces ellas comenzaron a hablarme. Fue increíble. ¡Usaban el mismo tono condescendiente que la doctora! Yo no podía creer que unas chicas de mi edad me miraran y me hablaran como lo hicieron ellas. Usaban una voz suave, como si hablaran con una niñita pequeña, viéndome desde arriba, porque ellas estaban de pie y yo acostada en la camilla con una aguja enorme en la mano derecha administrándome un suero que me bajaba frío por dentro del brazo. Yo sólo pensaba: si yo no estuviera aquí, si no estuviera así, sería solo otra chica normal para ustedes, hablaríamos sobre el clima, les preguntaría dónde queda algún edificio, me preguntarían dónde compré una maleta tan linda… Seríamos iguales. Pero en ese momento yo era una frágil e inútil paciente y ellas eran las profesionales. Fué realmente humillante.

Más tarde, cuando leí el historial médico vi que la doctora había escrito: “la paciente está recostada, se ve desarreglada y despeinada”. Pensé: “pues sí, idiota, estoy en un hospital, estuve inconsciente por horas, no tuve tiempo de maquillarme ni de hacerme el blower, gracias”.

¿Saben? Soy fan de Emilie Autumn y había oído en muchas de sus canciones y entrevistas lo humillante que es la experiencia de estar en un hospital como paciente después de intento de suicidio, pero nunca lo había vivido. Todos te tratan como si fueras un bebé estúpido que metió un tenedor en un toma-corriente sin razón alguna, sin darse cuenta. Yo sé exactamente por qué hice lo que hice. Y soy una adulta. Digo, estoy agradecida de que hicieron todo lo posible para mantenerme viva y este fue probablemente un procedimiento de rutina, estaban haciendo su trabajo. Pero aún así, se sintió mal para mí. Así es como me sentí. Después de esto creo que entiendo a EA mucho más y me parece que nunca me había identificado tanto con una artista en mi vida. Creo que tuve suerte de no haber sido enviado a un pabellón psiquiátrico como esta pobre chica. Me recetaron píldoras antidepresivas y pude salir el día siguiente.

 

Leave a Reply

