Mi familia no es Mala – My Family is not Bad

My Family is not Bad

A few days ago my dad called me on Whatsapp while I was at work and I ended up crying my eyes out because I told him I wasn’t sure I could finish college and he was furious. He winded​ up hanging up hastily once he saw my tears. It’s frustrating because we had talked about this before and he had seem to be so understanding. I thought it was ok if I needed to take my time or if I chose not to continue studying. He told me it was, but apparently he was lying. I haven’t been able to talk to him ever since. It’s hard. I’ve never ignored him before. But ignoring him I am. Cause I can’t face him until I can give him the answer that he wants or until he understands what I’m going through. It was very obvious he was disappointed.

Image result for life is strange gif

I think I inherited my depression from my mom, and she from hers. It’s hereditary, right? I remember staying at my grandparents’ house and hearing my grandmother wake up at 3 in the morning, wandering around the house crying and shouting “God, why was I born?” My mom was also overtly sensitive and melodramatic. Oh, that word. Sometimes I’m afraid I’m just a darn drama queen and not a depressed person. And do I have the right to be depressed when my life is actually quite good? Why am I so sad? Why this irrational and devastating fear of the future?

My mother has been taking care of me. And from time to time I insult her, I accuse her of something, I reject her, I refuse to speak to her. And she does the same to me. One week after my hospitalization I locked myself in my room because I did not want to see or talk to her. She insisted I take my breakfast even though I was late for work. That was it. That was what triggered everything. Ha ha ha! She thought I was slitting my wrists or something, called my dad and he said “throw the door down”. She called a guard to break my door, and as the door was struck I stared at the scene, silently, unable to believe what was happening. And I refused to speak or answer the cellphone until the door opened and my mother walked in. As soon as she entered I threw her out. I told her to leave. We argued crying and shouting, with my sister too, for 1 hour or more. I don’t think anyone in our building didn’t learn about what happened. I had no idea I could scream so loudly and desperately.

That caused my dad to give up his job and come to see me. My mom was a little excited that they would get back together, if things went in that direction. But my dad came with his partner, and she hates us. All of us. She hates my mother, my sister, and me. My dad stayed with me for only a week and then that woman began to chase him, physically clinging to him, taking him by the arm, appearing in the places he went before he even arrived. She thought that my suicide attempt was only a lie, a plan to bring him back and make him fall in love with my mother again. What an absurd witch. My dad did not face her. They had arguments, but as all of the arguments couples have, those did not mean anything. In the end, she came on top of me and on top of everything that had happened. He came to me several times complaining about his terrible situation, saying that he would have liked to spend more time with me. He promised me he would leave this woman as soon as he had the chance.

Well, at least that first week with him was beautiful indeed. We visited my dad’s family, we went out several times in my mom’s car and we were together for the first time in many years. My dad and mom even sang a song together. We went to eat, all 4 of us, we went shopping. My dad stuffed his face with our traditional food before returning to the culinary desolation he says reigns in Chile. Yes, it was very cute. And beauty never lasts.

After the divorce of my parents my life was just bouncing from house to house among our relatives. It’s still like this. My parents came and went between loves and jobs, and  they still do. I’m 23 now, so I guess it doesn’t matter anymore.

That’s my family. Not a bad family, I guess no one has a perfect family.

Stability is the only thing I’ve always wanted and it seems as though it’s out of reach. I’m always feeling as though I have no choice, as if I’m living a borrowed life, the lives of others. For me, every relationship is a chain. That’s why I have few friends, and I lose them by the lot. Stability, freedom… A useless search after that wich we, simple humans, cannot aspire. What was it? Oh, star, someone ephemeral wishes for the eternal.

Mi Familia no es Mala

Hace unos días mi papá me llamó en Whatsapp mientras yo estaba en el trabajo y terminé llorando porque le dije que no estaba segura de que podía terminar la carrera en la Universidad y él se puso furioso. Terminó colgando rápidamente cuando vió mis lágrimas. Es frustrante porque habíamos hablado de esto antes y él parecía ser tan comprensivo. Pensé que estaba bien si necesitaba tomarme mi tiempo o si decidía incluso no seguir estudiando. Él me dijo que así era, pero al parecer estaba mintiendo. No he podido hablar con él desde entonces. Es difícil. Nunca lo he ignorado antes. Pero ignorándolo estoy. Porque no puedo enfrentarlo hasta que pueda darle la respuesta que él quiere o hasta que entienda por lo que estoy pasando. Era muy obvio que estaba decepcionado.

Creo que heredé mi depresión de mi mamá, y ella de la suya. Es hereditario ¿no? Recuerdo quedarme en casa de mis abuelos y oír a mi abuela despierta a las 3 de la mañana, dando vueltas por la casa llorando a gritos y exclamando “Dios ¿por qué nací?”. Mi mamá también era excesivamente sencible y melodramática. Ah, esa palabra. A veces temo que sólo sea una dramática empedernida y no una persona deprimida. Y es que ¿tengo derecho a deprimirme cuando mi vida de hecho está bastante bien? ¿Por qué estoy tan triste? ¿Por qué este irracional y devastador miedo al futuro?

Mi madre ha estado cuidando de mí. Y de vez en cuando la insulto, la acuso de algo, la rechazo, me niego a hablarle. Y ella me hace lo mismo. Una semana después de mi hospitalización me encerré en mi cuarto porque no quería verla ni hablarle. Ella insistió en que tomara mi desayuno a pesar de que iba tarde para el trabajo. Eso fue todo. Eso fue lo que desencadenó todo. ¡Ja ja ja! Ella pensó que me estaría cortando las venas o algo, llamó a mi papá y él le dijo “Tira la puerta”. Ella llamó a un vigilante para que rompiera mi puerta y mientras la puerta era golpeada yo miraba fijamente la escena, en silencio, sin poder creer lo que pasaba. e negué a hablar o a contestar el celular hasta que la puerta se abrió y apareció mi mamá. En cuanto apareció la eché. Le dije que se largara. Discutimos llorando a gritos, con mi hermana también, por 1 hora o más. No creo que nadie en nuestro edificio dejara de enterarse de lo que pasó. No tenía idea de que podía gritar tan fuerte y desesperadamente.

Eso desencadenó que mi papá renunciara a su trabajao y viniera a verme. Mi mamá estaba un poco ilusionada de que volvieran a estar juntos, si las cosas se daban para ello. Pero mi papá vino con su pareja, y ella nos odia. A todas. Odia a mi mamá, a mi hermana y a mí. Mi papá se quedó conmigo sólo una semana y luego esa mujer comenzó a perseguirlo, agarrándose físicamente a él, tomándolo del brazo, apareciéndose a los lugares a los que él iba antes de que él llegara. Ella pensaba que mi intento de suicidio sólo era una mentira, un plan para traerlo de vuelta y hacer que se enamorara nuevamente de mi mamá. Vaya bruja absurda. Mi papá no le hizo frente. Tuvieron discusiones, pero como todas las discusiones de pareja no significaron nada. Al final primó eso, sobre mí y sobre todo lo que había pasado. Él vino a verme varias veces quejándose de su terrible situación, diciendo que le hubiera gustado estar más tiempo conmigo. Me prometió que dejaría a esa mujer en cuanto tuviera la oportunidad.

Bueno, al menos esa primera semana con él sí fué hermosa. Visitamos a la familia de mi papá, salimos varias veces en el carro de mi mamá y estuvimos por primera vez en muchos años los cuatro juntos. Mi papá y mamá hasta cantaron una canción juntos. Fuimos a comer todos, de compras. Mi papá se llenó de comida típica del país antes de volver a la desolación culinaria que él dice que reina en Chile. Sí, fue muy lindo. Y lo lindo nunca dura.

Después del divorcio de mis papás mi vida fue rebotar de una casa a otra entre nuestros familiares. Todavía es así. Mis papás iban y venían entre amores y trabajos, y aún es así. Ahora tengo 23, así que supongo que ya no importa.

Esa es mi familia. No es una mala familia, supongo que nadie tiene una familia perfecta.

Estabilidad, es lo único que siempre quise y que paree que no puede alcanzarse. Siempre sintiendo como si no tuviera opción, como si viviera una vida prestada, la vida de los demás. Para mí cada relación es una cadena. Por eso tengo pocos amigos, y los pierdo a montones. Estabilidad, libertad… Una búsqueda inútil tras lo que no puede ser de simples humanos. ¿Cómo era? Oh, estrella, alguien efímero pide lo eterno.

Leave a Reply

