Ansiedad y Fuego – Anxiety and Fire

Anxiety and Fire

I can’t make it to class. I always think something bad is going to happen. People are gonna be angry at me. My teachers are gonna ask about the homework I’ve been too depressed to make. So I fix it by not going. By not facing it.

And I also feel panic every once in a while. Like today for a few minutes, when I remembered I had read that sertraline (Zoloft) causes dependency and that I was probably going to experience really bad withdrawal synthoms​. Well, I had run out of the pills the day before so I started to feel like my heart was racing, I got a sour taste in my mouth, I felt dizzy and my stomach tied up in knots. I had to stand up, breath deeply and remind myself that it was all probably just a panic attack. Just paranoia. Everything was going to be alright. And it passed.

I also remember crying at work once because I got a really weird and rapidly growing mole and I thought I had skin cancer and was going to die soon. Thanks Doctor Google.

So that’s the way things are: I’m afraid, a fear that is subtly hidden and that suddenly jumps roaring when I least expect it. Whenever I dare to think good things, soon I regret it, I feel stupid for thinking that. How can I believe that everything will go well? Haven’t I understood that great things do not simply happen, that they require talent, effort, motivation, something that I don’t possess? Every bright dream is immediately eclipsed by terror, and it makes me angry. I think all this suffering is my fault, what I deserve for thinking that I have the right to dream beautiful things. Rage. Fear. Rage. Everything is about to go wrong.

And all those feelings only impel me to accelerate the evil that I consider inevitable. Once I went to an event with my sister, we made a three hour line and when we were finally about to get in, she decided to go for food. I entered the event, waited half an hour, called her (she didn’t answer) and finally, convinced that everything had been ruined, I walked towards the exit. A voice in my head was yelling “do not go out!” I had a terrifyingly liberating feeling: that of sending everything to hell and speeding up the end. It was the same feeling of freedom, of agony and morbid satisfaction that I had when I took that overdose of pills. We missed the event that time and my sister was furious, but I did not want to fix things. I was glad that she was angry and that everything was over. Nothing can go wrong if everything has already gone wrong.

I’m incendiary. An arsonist. I set things on fire. If I were in a sinking boat, I would not frantically search for the holes in the structure to try and patch them up. No. I would light the powder magazine and with wild eyes I would watch the gunpowder burn, waiting for the blow of fire from the dynamite, I would get ready to blow through the air in pieces, bit by the fire. The sweet pleasure of surrender. It is not so much anxiety as it is a deep contempt for optimism.

Resultado de imagen para hysteria mode gif

Ansiedad y Fuego

No puedo ir a clase. Siempre pienso que algo malo va a suceder. La gente se va a enojar conmigo. Mis profesores van a preguntar sobre la tarea que he estado demasiado deprimida para hacer. Así que lo arreglo no yendo. No enfrentándolo.

Y también siento pánico de vez en cuando. Al igual que hoy, por unos minutos, cuando me acordé de que había leído que la sertralina (Zoloft) causaba dependencia y que probablemente iba a experimentar terribles síndromes de abstinencia. Me había quedado sin las pastillas el día anterior, así que empecé a sentir que mi corazón se aceleraba, tenía un sabor amargo en la boca, me sentía mareada y mi estómago se retorcía. Tuve que levantarme, respirar profundamente y recordarme que probablemente sólo era un ataque de pánico. Sólo paranoia. Todo iba a estar bien. Y pasó.

También recuerdo llorar en el trabajo una vez porque tuve un lunar muy extraño y de rápido crecimiento y pensé que tenía cáncer de piel y que iba a morir pronto. Gracias Doctor Google.

Así que así están las cosas: tengo miedo, un miedo que se esconde con sutileza y que salta rugiendo de repente cuando menos lo espero. Cada vez que me atrevo a pensar en cosas buenas, al poco tiempo me arrepiento, me siento estúpida por pensar así. ¿Cómo puedo creer que todo saldrá bien? ¿Acaso no he comprendido que esas cosas no pasan simplemente, que requieren talento, esfuerzo, motivación, algo que yo no poseo? Cada sueño brillante es eclipsado de inmediato por el terror, y me da rabia. Pienso que ese sufrimiento es mi culpa por pensar que tengo derecho a soñar cosas lindas. Rabia. Miedo. Rabia. Todo está a punto de salir mal.

Y todos esos sentimientos solo me impulsan a acelerar el mal que yo considero inevitable. Cierta vez fui a un evento con mi hermana, hicimos una fila de tres horas y cuando finalmente íbamos a entrar ella decidió ir por comida. Entré al evento, esperé media hora, la llamé (no contestó) y finalmente, convencida de que todo se había arruinado, caminé hacia la salida. Una voz en mi cabeza me gritaba “¡no salgas!” Tenía una sensación espantosamente liberadora: la de mandar todo al diablo y acelerar el final. Fue la misma sensación de libertad, de agónica y morbosa satisfacción que tuve cuando me tomé aquella sobredosis de pastillas. Perdimos el viaje esa vez y mi hermana estaba furiosa, pero yo no quería arreglar las cosas. Me alegrara que se hubiera enojado y que todo se hubiera acabado. Nada puede salir mal si ya todo salió mal.

Soy incendiaria. Le prendo fuego a las cosas. Si fuera en un barco que está haciendo agua no buscaría frenéticamente los agujeros en la estructura para intentar cubrirlos. No. Yo encendería el polvorín y con ojos enloquecidos miraría la pólvora arder, aguardando por el golpe de fuego de la dinamita, lista para volar por los aires en pedazos, mordida por el fuego. El dulce placer de rendirse. No es tanto ansiedad como un profundo desprecio por todo optimismo.

Resultado de imagen para fire gif

Leave a Reply

