Diagnóstico – Diagnosis

Diagnosis

So, I read that depression is a state of sadness and emotional decay that, unlike normal states of sadness, does not last a moment, but days, weeks, months and even years. Apparently it is normal to feel bad until that feeling goes beyond reason. It is a simple matter of extension. But is it truly like that?

Of course self-diagnosing mental and emotional illnesses is pathetic, but the alternative, spending months trying to convince a psychologist that you really feel wrong, is not easy. Of course, it is understandable that a psychologist wants to save their client’s the panic of suddenly discovering that they have a serious mental illness. Most will prefer the less alarmist answer. In the case of my psychoanalyst the answer was that everything, my sadness of more than a year, my episodes of suicidal ideas, everything was due to panic attacks.

It was disappointing, to tell the truth, I expected something else. To be more precise I expected him to tell me that I did have something, something bad, deep and concrete that I could show anyone who asked me why I am so useless. And, well, as it happens with prolonged sadness such as this, I have long been unmotivated and incapacitated to do the things that I have to do. I have abandoned all duties that were not absolutely necessary. The only thing that keeps me from leaving work and dropping out of the university altogether is that I am not financially independent. If I do not study I can not expect the support of my parents and if I do not work I can not get the things I want and that my parents could not get for me.

But each moment I feel more pathetic and useless. Because I’m really sad, all the time, every day, except for some moments of bright optimism that come and go, intermittent like the glow of a firefly. I feel bad for thinking that I have depression. Because it sounds like a cheap excuse. I don’t think anyone is going to believe I have depression unless I show them a note from a psychologist who diagnosed me. I was taking sertraline (Zoloft) for a month, and trazodone to sleep. They prescribed them at the hospital after my episode. However, even with that and my medical history I do not think anyone will believe me. I keep thinking that everyone expects great things from me, and I just wish that everything would go to hell. I want everyone to be disappointed until they expect nothing more.

It makes me angry, because I feel useless and at the same time anxious not to be able to explain to anyone, or convince anyone, that it is something real this that consumes me day by day. And I feel like a fake because no, I’m not a psychologist, I can’t say for sure that I have depression or anxiety. Am I mocking those who really suffer from these diseases? I apologize.

I feel that life is a contest of suffering. Whoever suffers the most is the one who has the right to complain, is the one who gets to tell others “Do you think your life is bad? You have not seen anything!” I feel like I’m competing and I’m losing. Not having a true diagnosis makes me feel invalid and pathetic. What should I do?

 

 

Diagnóstico

Así que, he leído por ahí que la depresión es un estado de tristeza y decaimiento que, a diferencia de los estados de tristeza normal, no dura un momento, sino días, semanas, meses y hasta años. Por lo visto es normal sentirse mal hasta que esa sensación se alarga hasta más allá de lo razonable. Es una simple cuestión de extensión. ¿Pero de verdad es así?

Por supuesto que autodiagnosticarse enfermedades mentales y emocionales es patético, pero la alternativa, pasarse meses tratando de convencer a un psicólogo de que realmente te encuentras mal, no es fácil. Por supuesto, es comprensible que un psicólogo quiera evitarle a su cliente el pánico de descubrir de repente que tiene una enfermedad mental grave. La mayoría preferirá la respuesta menos alarmista. En el caso de mi psicoanalista la respuesta fue que todo, mi tristeza de más de un año, mis episodios de ideas suicidas, todo se debía a los ataques de pánico.

Fue decepcionante la verdad, yo esperaba otra cosa. Para ser más precisos esperaba que me dijeran que efectivamente tenía algo, algo malo, profundo y concreto que podría mostrarle a cualquiera que me preguntara por qué soy tan inútil. Y es que, bueno, como pasa con esta tristeza prolongada, hace tiempo que me siento desmotivada e incapacitada para hacer las cosas que tengo que hacer. He abandonado todos los deberes que no eran totalmente imprescindibles. Lo único que me impide dejar el trabajo y la universidad del todo es que no soy económicamente independiente. Si no estudio no puedo esperar el apoyo de mis padres y si no trabajo no puedo conseguir las cosas que quiero y que mis padres no podrían conseguirme.

Pero cada vez me siento más patética e inútil. Porque de verdad estoy muy triste, todo el tiempo, todos los días, excepto por algunos momentos de brillante optimismo que llegan y se van, intermitentes como el brillo de una luciérnaga. Me siento mal por pensar que tengo depresión. Porque suena como una excusa barata. No creo que nadie me crea que tengo depresión a menos que les muestre una nota de un psicólogo que me lo diagnostique. Estuve tomando sertralina (Zoloft) por un mes y trazodona para dormir. Me lo recetaron en el hospital después de mi episodio. Sin embargo, incluso con eso y mi historia médica no pienso que nadie me crea. Sigo pensando que todos esperan grandes cosas de mí, y yo sólo deseo que todo se vaya a la mierda. Quiero que todos queden decepcionados hasta que no esperen nada más.

Me enoja, porque me siento inútil y a la vez ansiosa por no poder explicarle a nadie, ni convencer a nadie, de que es algo real lo que me consume día a día. Y me siento como una farsante porque no, no soy psicóloga, no puedo decir con toda certeza que tenga depresión o ansiedad. ¿Me estoy burlando de quienes realmente padecen esas enfermedades? Me disculpo.

Siento que la vida es un concurso de sufrimiento. Quién más padece es quién más tiene derecho a quejarse, es quien le puede decir a los demás “¿Crees que tu vida está mal? ¡No has visto nada!” Siento que estoy compitiendo y que estoy perdiendo. No tener un diagnóstico verdadero me hace sentir invalidada y patética. ¿Qué debería hacer?

Leave a Reply

