Death, the deceiver – Muerte, la engañosa

Death, the deceiver

On March 6 of this year I was about to die. For real. Surely this is nothing special. Many people, probably some I know, must have gone through the same thing, maybe under similar or worst circumstances.

Last year I suffered a difficulty that should have been nothing but an unpleasant anecdote: I lost a plane for 5 minutes and I had to buy another ticket and wait 8 hours at the airport for the next one. It saved me from having to fly at night, but it also guaranteed that I would spend the most agonizing hours I had spent in several years. I had no cell phone, nowhere to sleep. I lied down on the cold floor under the implacable lights of the ceiling. From that day on I did not have any good times again.

That day was a confirmation of all the fears catastrophic thinking had been painting. Anything that can go wrong, will go wrong. Anything good you get you’ll have to pay for with a terrible experience. Bitterness.

After that I began to feel everything was going to go wrong, and even when it was not like that I thought it was just a lucky and rare coincidence. I started to self-sabotage just because I wanted to feel like I had some control over the bad things that happened. Then everything went through a dark hole. I stopped enjoying everything I had enjoyed and everything I tried to feel better ended disastrously. Things that had gone well before, now failed. I began to feel that way in my studies too.

For 4 years the university has been the center of my life, is what justifies everything else, what pays the bills. Well, what justifies my dad paying the bills. Which allows me to have a job and enjoy having my own money. If I were not studying I would probably be selling energy drinks at a traffic light, dying in the sun under one of the worst wages in the country.

I used to feel like I could handle it. There were things I did not like, things that made me nervous. The prospect of having to do a thesis, of practicing in schools, of graduating and having to find work, of finding work and having to do the worst job in the world: being a teacher. Surely my teachers and some classmates would be surprised and offended if they read this. For them to teach must be a noble task, the reason of their lives. For me it is to put yourself in the worst position that a human being can put themselves in: to tell a lot of teenagers about things that do not interest them in the least. We all know that students do not go to school voluntarily. Maybe the university ones do, but surely the universities would not have a third of their students if a college degree was not an almost indispensable requirement to have a fairly decent salary. The students are prisoners of the classrooms, the teachers are unarmed jailers who must convince them that there is a good reason for them to get up at 6 in the morning to lock themselves in a small room with 30 other unfortunates to hear about a lot of dead people who do not mean anything to them. They are the type of jailer who in a prison film prisoners would nickname something humiliating and then take hostage at the first opportunity in a riot. Seriously, if I had had a more rebellious and aggressive spirit I would have gotten out of many classes, I would have missed school on several occasions, and maybe I would have hit some cheeky teachers. Yes, I had teachers who literally insulted the students. I do not know many cases of people who love their teachers. They are the ones who give away the 0s, the “Fs”, the citations to the parents. Punishers. Those who keep you locked up for hours every day doing things you do not want to do. Who likes that?

But it turns out that the only thing for which I have a moderate talent is for literature, and in my country that is of no use, except to pretend that you can teach Spanish. Ha! Do you think I know what the hell an adverb or a past participle is? No idea. In the University they make me read plays, great novels (things I like), but in real life, what I will really have to teach my prisoners will be tenses and spelling. No idea.

And that’s it. Even if I can do internships and make a decent enough thesis to graduate, my reward will be a lifetime of the one job I swore I would never do. I swear that prostitution sounds more attractive than teaching. I think I would get more respect and job satisfaction. Let alone more money.

Now let’s talk about the thesis. At least 80 pages on a very specific topic that I must decide. No, no one is going to help me by giving me the subject. I have to choose it. Great. And they tell me that I have to choose something that I like and interests me. But there never was and there never will be any subject that I want to write 80 damn pages about. Do you know what I like and interests me a lot? NOT MAKING A THESIS. Can my thesis be a social experiment in which I do not make any thesis and I intend to graduate anyway? No?

And here I am, 4 years later. All the things that I thought I would have solved by now, or rather, that would solve themselves magically, and that I hoped for with confidence for the future are here. Here and now. And I have nothing. I have no idea what I should do or how to do it. That’s the way it is. I want to give up on everything because I have wasted 4 years of the life of my family, who have invested time and money in sustaining me during this time in the hopes that this year I would leave the university with a diploma, and straight for a 6 figures job.

On March 6, after months of knowing that I have no future, everything solidified when a teacher asked me to come to classes with my thesis topic already defined, to start working on the blueprint. I had nothing. I had a panic attack and wanted to calm myself with soothing pills, insomnia pills. While taking a couple of them at once without caring in the least how dangerous it was, I began to think why not take another? And when I took it I said, how about another? And so until I had taken 20. I put the pills on top of this same laptop on which I’m writing. Why not? What do I have to lose? I have nothing. Except life. And that does not help much.

But I was frightened when my heart rate picked and I began to feel a strange discomfort all over my body. I threw the rest of the pills into the toilet and put my toothbrush in my throat as deep as I could, trying to vomit. I could not. I do not know how to vomit. My body had already absorbed the poison. I got intoxicated horribly. I began to feel a dark sleepyness, horrible, dark. An abyss opened before me, my muscles weakened, I began to lose consciousness. I was sleepy and at the same time excited, heart pounding. I called my mother, convinced I was going to die. I lied to her, I told her I had an ache from something I ate. I asked her to come over and help me. When I felt I was leaving forever I said I love you with my last strength.

I woke up in the hospital the next morning, tied to the stretcher, in a corridor, with a catheter to urinate and electrodes in the chest. They told me that I went crazy from the pills, started beating people, screaming, did not understand where I was, fainted and came back to conciousness just to fight. They did a lot of tests because they were expectingbrain damage or of heart failure at any time, because my heart was going too fast. When doctors discovered the substances in my body I had to admit that I had taken the pills on purpose. A part of my family found out, of course my mom, my dad and my sister knew. There were tears, I made stupid promises that I would go on, I said I wanted to live and finish the things I had started. At that moment I really felt it. But it was easy at the time. I was surrounded by compassion. For a few days no one expected anything from me, they just wanted me to relax, to sleep, to rest, to be happy.

Well, that’s over now. Now everyone wants me to continue with my life and fulfill my obligations. And I can not. And that infuriates them. I’ve had fights with my family over that. That day I had accepted an incontestable truth: my life is meaningless and nothing good awaits me. I’ll never have anything I dreamed about, and to be honest I’m not interested anymore. I have no will, no power, no intelligence. That afternoon I let everything go, and I felt immense relief when I knew that I would never have to do anything ever again. I said “I love you” and “goodbye” and those were going to be my last obligations. The last obstacle was going to be that desperate physical discomfort, but after that I would have peace. But I lived. And in life there is no peace. I failed

I do not know why I thought anything would change just because I risked my life that way. Those first few days after I survived, I felt grateful, as if I had been reborn. But I did not reborn, I just woke up the next day to continue in the same life I had before. Nothing changed. All the things that terrified me and bothered me were still there, crouching, waiting for me. The future continues to weigh on me, the burden of my whole life, to know that the next three years will define the rest of my existence and that if I do not do what is expected of me, my family will hate me forever.

Death failed me. It is painful, it is scary, and it denied me the peace I wanted. I took a great risk, I endured great pain and it did not help me. Now I only have one way: if I can not escape life maybe I can escape this way of life. I just have to go where no one knows me. And I’ll end up on the streets without a penny, surely, starving, being raped, probably using drugs to forget the pain of famine. But it is not necessarily a worse end than the one that awaits me on the road where I’m going. At least I’ll rot away from the eyes of people who know me. I can become a stinking mass of skin and bones surrounded by people who do not care, who will not see me as a disappointment but as a figure, part of the statistics.

I do not know if you understand what is waiting for me from now on, the reason I want death: the emptiness. Everything is about to change. I’m going to be an adult, a real one. I’m going to have to get a job I hate to survive with food I do not like in a place that does not satisfy me. For what purpose? None, just because I had the misfortune to be born. My sister stopped being my best friend years ago, my mom even longer ago, let alone my dad. Everyone left for the same thing: “love”. It’s really about sex, but truth is offensive. And now everyone is about to leave me for real, the thin bond that binds us fades. And as the moment approaches each conversation becomes a discussion about how disappointed and angry they are because I’m not working out the way they want to.

I have nothing. Or I’m about to have nothing. The things that thrilled me about life now I’m indifferent to. No, I hate them. I hate everything. And I understood that the things I wanted were beyond my reach. Even death is beyond my reach. What can I expect? Death, damn it, come quickly. If I could I would change places with any of the people who are dying at this moment. I would give them my years, those that remain, that are too many, for sure. I would give them to you.

Love GIF - Find & Share on GIPHY

I can, in theory, imagine a happy future. But I can also imagine a goblin riding a unicorn, so that does not mean anything.

Muerte, la engañosa

El 6 de Marzo de este año estuve a punto de morir. De verdad. Seguramente esto no es nada especial. Muchas personas, probablemente algunas que conozco, deben haber pasado por lo mismo, puede que en circunstancias parecidas o peores.

El año pasado sufrí una dificultad que no debió pasar de una anécdota desagradable: perdí un avión por 5 minutos y tuve que comprar otro pasaje y esperar 8 horas en el aeropuerto a que saliera el siguiente. Me evitó tener que volar de noche, pero garantizó que pasara las horas más angustiosas que había pasado en varios años. No tenía celular, ni donde dormir. Me acosté en el piso frío bajo las luces implacables del techo. A partir de ese día no volví a tener buenos momentos.

Ese día fue una confirmación de todos los miedos que el pensamiento catastrófico me había estado pintando. Todo lo que puede salir mal, saldrá mal. Cualquier cosa buena que tengas tendrás que pagarla con una experiencia terrible. Amargura.

Después de eso comencé a sentir que todo iba a ir mal, e incluso cuando no era así pensaba que solo era una afortunada y rara coincidencia. Comencé a auto-sabotearme solo porque quería sentir que tenía algún control sobre las cosas malas que pasaban. Entonces todo se fue por un hueco oscuro. Dejé de disfrutar todo lo que había disfrutado y cada cosa que intentaba para sentirme mejor acababa desastrosamente. Cosas que antes habían salido bien, ahora fracasaban. Comencé a sentirme así también en el estudio.

Desde hace 4 años la universidad es el centro de mi vida, es lo que justifica todo lo demás, lo que paga las cuentas. Bueno, lo que justifica que mi papá pague las cuentas. Lo que me permite tener un trabajo y disfrutar de tener mi propio dinero. Si no estuviera estudiando probablemente estaría vendiendo bebidas energéticas en un semáforo, muriendo lento bajo el sol por uno de los peores salarios del país.

Antes sentía que podía con eso. Había cosas que no me gustaban, que me ponían nerviosa. La perspectiva de tener que hacer una tesis, de hacer prácticas en colegios, de graduarme y tener que encontrar trabajo, de encontrar trabajo y tener que ejercer el peor trabajo del mundo: ser maestra. Seguramente mis profesores y algunos compañeros se sentirían sorprendidos y ofendidos si leyeran esto. Para ellos enseñar debe ser una noble tarea, la razón de sus vidas. Para mí es ponerse en la peor posición en la que puede ponerse un ser humano: predicarle a un montón de adolescentes sobre cosas que no les interesan en lo más mínimo. Todos sabemos que los estudiantes no van a la escuela voluntariamente. Puede que a la universidad sí, pero seguramente las universidades no tendrían ni un tercio de sus estudiantes si un grado universitario no fuera un requisito casi indispensable para tener un salario medianamente decente. Los estudiantes son prisioneros de las aulas, los profesores son carceleros sin armas que deben convencerlos de que existe una buena razón para que se hayan levantado a las 6 de la mañana a encerrarse en un cuartito con otros 30 desgraciados para escuchar acerca de un montón de gente muerta que no significa nada para ellos. Son el tipo de carcelero que en una película sobre prisiones los reos apodarían algo humillante y después tomarían como rehén a la primera oportunidad en un motín. En serio, si yo hubiera tenido un espíritu más rebelde y agresivo me hubiera salido de muchas clases, me hubiera escapado de la escuela en varias ocasiones, y tal vez hubiera golpeado a algunos profesores insolentes. Sí, tuve profesores que literalmente insultaban a los alumnos. No conozco muchos casos de gente que quiera a sus profesores. Ellos son los que reparten los 0s, los “Reprobados”, las citaciones a los padres. Los castigadores. Los que te mantienen encerrado por horas todos los días haciendo cosas que no quieres hacer. ¿A quién le gusta eso?

Pero resulta que la única cosa para la que tengo un moderado talento es para la literatura, y en mi país eso no sirve para nada, excepto para fingir que puedes enseñar español. ¡Ja! ¿Creen que sé qué demonios es un adverbio o un pasado participio? Ni idea. En la Universidad me hacen leer obras de teatro, grandes novelas (cosas que me gustan), pero en la vida real lo que realmente voy a tener que enseñarles a mis prisioneros serán los tiempos verbales y la ortografía. Ni idea.

Y eso es todo. Incluso si consigo hacer las prácticas y realizar una tesis lo suficientemente decente para graduarme mi recompensa será una vida entera del único trabajo que juré que nunca haría. Juro que la prostitución suena más atractiva que la enseñanza. Creo que obtendría más respeto y satisfacción laboral. Ni hablar de más dinero.

Ahora hablemos de la tesis. Mínimo 80 páginas sobre un tema muy específico que yo debo decidir. No, nadie me va a ayudar dándome el tema. Tengo que escogerlo. Genial. Y me dicen que debo escoger algo que me guste y me interese. Pero jamás hubo ni habrá ningún tema del que quiera escribir 80 malditas páginas. ¿Saben qué me gusta y me interesa mucho? NO HACER TESIS. ¿Puede ser mi tesis un experimento social en el que no entrego tesis y de todos modos pretendo graduarme? ¿No?

Y aquí estoy, 4 años después. Todas las cosas que pensé que ya habría resuelto, o más bien, que se resolverían solas mágicamente, y que esperaba con confianza para el futuro están aquí. Aquí y ahora. Y no tengo nada. No tengo idea de qué debo hacer ni cómo. Así están las cosas. Quiero renunciar a todo porque he desperdiciado 4 años de la vida de mi familia, quienes han invertido tiempo y dinero en mantenerme durante este tiempo con la esperanza de que este año saliera de la universidad con un diploma, y derecho para un trabajo de 6 cifras.

El 6 de Marzo, después de meses de saber que no tengo futuro, todo se solidificó cuando una maestra me exigió llegar a clases con mi tema de tesis ya definido, para empezar a trabajar en el anteproyecto. No tenía nada. Tuve un ataque de pánico y quise calmarme con pastillas calmantes, pastillas para el insomnio. Mientras tomaba un par de una vez sin importarme en lo más mínimo lo peligroso que era, comencé a pensar ¿por qué no tomo otra? Y cuando tomé esa me dije ¿qué tal otra? Así hasta que hube tomado 20. Puse las pastillas encima de esta misma laptop en la que escribo. ¿Por qué no? ¿Qué tengo que perder? No tengo nada. Excepto la vida. Y eso no sirve de mucho.

Pero me asusté cuando el corazón se me aceleró y empecé a sentir un extraño malestar en todo el cuerpo. Boté el resto de las pastillas al inodoro y me metí el cepillo de dientes a la garganta lo más hondo que pude, intentando vomitar. No pude. No sé vomitar. Mi cuerpo ya había absorbido el veneno. Me intoxiqué horriblemente. Comencé a sentir un sueño tenebroso, horrible, oscuro. Un abismo se abrió ante mí, mis músculos se debilitaron, comencé a perder la conciencia. Tenía sueño y al mismo tiempo estaba excitada, con el corazón desbocado. Llamé a mi mamá, convencida de que iba a morir. Le mentí, le dije que tenía un malestar por algo que comí. Le pedí que viniera a ayudarme. Cuando sentí que me iba para siempre le dije te amo con mis últimas fuerzas.

Desperté en el hospital la mañana siguiente, amarrada a la camilla, en un pasillo, con un catéter para orinar y electrodos en el pecho. Me contaron que enloquecí por las pastillas, comencé a golpear a la gente, a gritar, no entendía dónde estaba, me desmayaba y volvía en mí sólo para pelear. Me hicieron muchos exámenes porque temían que hubiera daño cerebral o que sufriera un paro cardíaco en cualquier momento, ya que mi corazón iba excesivamente rápido. Cuando los doctores descubrieron las sustancias en mi cuerpo tuve que admitir que había tomado las pastillas a propósito. Una parte de mi familia se enteró, por supuesto mi mamá, mi papá y mi hermana lo supieron. Hubo lágrimas, hice promesas estúpidas de que seguiría adelante, dije que quería vivir y terminar las cosas que había empezado. En ese momento de verdad lo sentía. Pero en ese momento era fácil. Estaba rodeada de compasión. Por unos pocos días nadie esperó nada de mí, sólo querían que me relajara, que durmiera, que descansara, que estuviera feliz.

Bueno, eso acabó ya. Ahora todos quieren que siga con mi vida y que cumpla con mis obligaciones. Y no puedo. Y eso les enfurece. He tenido peleas a gritos con mi familia por eso. Ese día había aceptado una verdad incontestable: mi vida no tiene sentido y nada bueno me espera. Nunca tendré nada de lo que soñé, y para ser sinceros ya no me interesa. No tengo la voluntad, ni el poder, ni la inteligencia. Esa tarde dejé ir todo y sentí un inmenso alivio cuando supe que ya no tendría que hacer nada nunca jamás. Dije “te amo” y “adiós” y esas iban a ser mis últimas obligaciones. El último obstáculo iba a ser ese desesperante malestar físico, pero después de eso tendría paz. Pero viví. Y en vida no existe la paz. Fallé.

No sé por qué pensé que algo cambiaría sólo porque arriesgué mi vida de esa manera. Esos primeros días después de sobrevivir me sentí agradecida, como si hubiera renacido. Pero no renací, simplemente me desperté al otro día para seguir en la misma vida que tenía antes. Nada cambió. Todas las cosas que me aterrorizaban y que me molestaban seguían allí, agazapadas, esperándome. El futuro sigue pesando sobre mí, el peso de toda mi vida, de saber que los próximos tres años definirán todo el resto de mi existencia y que si no consigo lo que se espera de mí mi familia me odiará para siempre.

La muerte me falló. Es dolorosa, da miedo, y me negó la paz que deseaba. Tomé un gran riesgo, soporté un gran dolor y no me sirvió de nada. Ahora solo tengo un camino: si no puedo escapar de la vida tal vez pueda escapar de esta forma de vida. Sólo tengo que irme a donde nadie me conozca. Y acabaré en la calle sin un céntimo, de seguro, muriéndome de hambre, siendo violada, probablemente consumiendo drogas para olvidarme del dolor de la hambruna. Pero no es necesariamente un peor final que el que me espera en el camino en el que voy. Al menos me pudriré lejos de los ojos de la gente que me conoce. Podré convertirme en una masa apestosa de piel y huesos rodeada de gente a la que no le importa, que no me verá como una decepción sino como una cifra, más, parte de las estadísticas.

No sé si entienden qué es lo que me espera de ahora en adelante, la razón por la que deseo la muerte: el vacío. Todo está a punto de cambiar. Voy a ser una adulta, una de verdad. Voy a tener que conseguir un trabajo que odio para sobrevivir con comida que no me gusta en un lugar que no me satisface. ¿Con qué objeto? Ninguno, solo porque tuve el infortunio de nacer.  Mi hermana dejó de ser mi mejor amiga hace años, mi mamá hace todavía más tiempo, mi papá ni se diga. Todos se fueron detrás de la misma cosa: “amor”. En realidad se trata de sexo, pero la verdad es ofensiva. Y ahora todos están a punto de dejarme de verdad, el delgado lazo que nos unía se desvanece. Y a medida que se acerca el momento cada conversación se vuelve una discusión acerca de lo decepcionados y enojados que están porque no estoy resultando tal y como ellos quieren.

No tengo nada. O estoy a punto de no tener nada. Las cosas que me entusiasmaban de la vida, ahora me son indiferentes. No, las odio. Odio todo. Y he entendido que las cosas que deseaba están fuera de mi alcance. Incluso la muerte está fuera de mi alcance. ¿Qué puedo esperar? Muerte, maldita, ven rápido. Si pudiera me cambiaría con cualquiera de las personas que están muriendo en este momento. Les daría mis años, los que quedan, que son demasiados, de seguro. Se los daría.

Puedo, en teoría, imaginar un futuro feliz. Pero también puedo imaginar un duende cabalgando un unicornio, así que eso no significa nada.

Leave a Reply

